Main accused in 2005 Delhi blasts convicted but will walk free

By NL Team

Published on :

Tariq Ahmed Dar, mastermind behind the 2005 Delhi serial blasts, was sentenced to 10 years in prison by a Delhi trial court today. Das has been found guilty under Sections 38 and 39 of the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act. Two other accused in the blasts, Mohammed Hussain Fazili and Mohammed Rafiq Shah, were acquitted of all charges. However, Dar will walk free since he has already spent 12 years in prison as an under-trial.

The kin of victims said that “justice has been denied” and they will appeal the verdict in the High Court.

On October 29, 2005 blasts at Sarojini Nagar market, Paharganj and Kalkaji in Delhi killed more than 60 people and injured 200. Dar was arrested in Pampore, Kashmir on November 11, 2005 and charges were framed against him and the two other accused for waging war against the state, conspiring, collecting arms, murder and attempt to murder in 2008.