Rohini Mohan and Arfa Khanum Sherwani win the Chameli Devi Jain Award for outstanding woman journalists

The award is instituted by the Media Foundation.

WrittenBy:NL Team
media shots
  • Share this article on whatsapp

The 2019 Chameli Devi Jain Award for Outstanding Women Mediaperson for the year has been awarded to independent journalist Rohini Mohan and The Wire's Arfa Khanum Sherwani.

First given in the 1980s, the award is instituted by the Media Foundation. Last year's recipient was Priyanka Dubey of the BBC.

The award function was scheduled to take place on March 14. It has reportedly been postponed in the wake of the coronavirus threat.

Several journalists and public personalities congratulated Rohini and Arfa on Twitter.


Support Independent Media

The media must be free and fair, uninfluenced by corporate or state interests. That's why you, the public, need to pay to keep news free.


Power NL-TNM Election Fund

General elections are around the corner, and Newslaundry and The News Minute have ambitious plans together to focus on the issues that really matter to the voter. From political funding to battleground states, media coverage to 10 years of Modi, choose a project you would like to support and power our journalism.

Ground reportage is central to public interest journalism. Only readers like you can make it possible. Will you?

Support now

You may also like