Song and dance at AAP office, reluctance at BJP’s, and a lock at Congress’s

AAP unseated the BJP after 15 years running the capital's municipal corporation. The Congress won just nine of the 250 seats.

WrittenBy:Akanksha Kumar& Anmol Pritam
Article image

Speaking to reporters, Adesh Gupta, state president of BJP, said, “Aam Aadmi Party used to say we wouldn’t get more than 20 seats, but due to welfare schemes initiated by PM Narendra Modi, people of Delhi have reciprocated such a gesture.” 

The increase in BJP’s vote share is beyond what exit polls had predicted, and the party managed to secure over a 100 seats despite a 15-year term and an energetic opposition campaign. The party’s national spokesperson Shehzad Poonawalla said the party has retained its vote share on the basis of its work even after 15 years. Its northeast Delhi MP Manoj Tiwari thanked party supporters and workers for winning these many seats the fourth consecutive time.

With inputs from Hardik Dogra.


We take comments from subscribers only!  Subscribe now to post comments! 
Already a subscriber?  Login

You may also like