The News Minute’s Dhanya Rajendran wins Chameli Devi Jain Award for 2022

Rajendran will receive the award at an event on March 21.

WrittenBy:NL Team
Article image
  • Share this article on whatsapp

The News Minute’s cofounder and editor in chief Dhanya Rajendran has been announced as the winner of the Chameli Devi Jain Award for an Outstanding Woman Mediaperson 2022. 

Rajendran will receive the award, instituted by the Media Foundation, at an event in Delhi on March 21. She was selected by a three-member jury comprising journalist Nidhi Razdan, Indian Express national rural affairs and agriculture editor Harish Damodaran, and PTI Bhasha editor Nirmal Pathak. 

A press release said the jury “unanimously agreed that Rajendran’s work showed a blend of meticulous reportage and data reflecting not only individual merit, but the pursuit of committed journalism”. Harish Khare, chair of the foundation, said Rajendran’s reportage was an “outstanding example of how good journalism can impact democracy”.

The Media Foundation said it received over 70 entries from women journalists across India. Past winners of the award include Sucheta Dalal, Sevanti Ninan, Teesta Setalvad, Pamela Phillipose, Barkha Dutt, Neha Dixit and Rohini Mohan. 


Support Independent Media

The media must be free and fair, uninfluenced by corporate or state interests. That's why you, the public, need to pay to keep news free.

Also see
article imageWebinar: Is the press free in India?

Power NL-TNM Election Fund

General elections are around the corner, and Newslaundry and The News Minute have ambitious plans together to focus on the issues that really matter to the voter. From political funding to battleground states, media coverage to 10 years of Modi, choose a project you would like to support and power our journalism.

Ground reportage is central to public interest journalism. Only readers like you can make it possible. Will you?

Support now

You may also like